Missed Connections

Moving to a new city can be overwhelming at times. Moving away from friends and family, even if it’s just for a semester, and orienting to a new place is hard! Somehow, whenever I begin to feel a bit rundown I manage to run into an extra friendly stranger. These brief but exceptionally kind encounters help make living in London seem that much more manageable. Last night the cab driver taking me and my friends home from a night handed us some fatherly wisdom: all men are creeps (I guess that’s an international dad thing) and encouraged us to pick football teams (that’s soccer for us American’s) and become big fans. Today at the grocery store the woman checking me out commented on by Boston University sweatshirt and began telling me all about how much she enjoyed visiting Boston and eating in Quincy Market (don’t we all!). These short conversations are all it takes to really brighten my day and make me feel more at home in London.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

